July 13, 2024

TNN Newspaper

a commitment to responsible journalism

How Calabar Golf Club, ENC Honoured Adeniran

3 min read


The out-gone Flag Officer Commanding the Eastern Naval Command, Rear Admiral David Adeniran (rtd) has been described as a driving force and a single individual who has done a lot to give the game of golf a big boost in Cross River State.
Captain of the Calabar Golf Club, AVM Eko Osim (rtd) made the remarks at the end of the retirement golf tournament jointly organized by the club and the headquarters of the Eastern Naval command in honour of Adeniran.

Osim said while his stay in Calabar lasted, the former Flag Officer Commanding the Eastern Naval command had assisted the Club in so many ways, including the provision of a rest place on the course.
While wishing the out-gone FOC a happy retirement life, the captain commended the members of the planning committee led by the chairman, Mr. Igbe Aruku for a job well done and thanked all the members for turning out en masse for the big events.

Man City Ready For Tottenhan

Earlier, vice captain of the Ccub and chairman Tombola section, Major General AM Sabo (rtd) who handled proceedings during the special Tombola night organized for the former FOC told TNN Sports that they were celebrating him for his goodwill, magnanimity and support for the club and Tombola section, adding that they held him in high esteem.
In his speech, Adeniran showered praises on members of the club and the Eastern Naval Command for the honour accorded him and assured the members that he would always work towards the growth of the club, having started the game in Calabar in 2002.

He used the occasion to call on members of the public to avail themselves of the facilities at the Club and embrace the game of golf.
At the end of the big event, Solomon Dominic remained a strong force in category one when he returned 83 gross to emerge the winner while Ignatius Sunday became the runner up with 86 gross.
In category two, Roelf Treydom emerged the champion with a nett score of 76 while Sam Kalio was the runner up with 79 nett.

Bayelsa Project Monitoring Team Louds Contractors On Pace Of Work.

Major Gen AM Sabo (rtd) with 79 nett became the winner in category three, Eja Don was the runner up with 81 nett on count back, Enebong Orok was 3rd with 81 nett, Paul Ebiala was 4th with 85 nett while the duo of Efiok Cobham and Enang Ukaogu were placed 5th and 6th positions respectively.
In category four, Friday Aruku was the winner with 85 nett on count back while aye Hensahw became the runner up with 85 nett. Chris Ekam with 88 nett was third while Wofai Iwara and Jesam Iwara were placed 4th and 5th positions respectively on count back rule.

Major Mike Otiwa rtd with 82 emerge the winner in veteran category while Patrick Iwara became the runner up with 83 nett.
In women category, Brenda Joseph recorded 81 nett on count back to emerge the with winner, runner up was Ezinne Standley with 81 nett while the trio of Nkechi Uzoma, Gladness Archibong and Emma Timothy garnered 82 nett, 83 nett and 91 nett respectively.
In the military category, SA Hariuna emerged the winner with 76 nett, Standley Odionyenfe was the runner up with 80 nett.
Kwetishe GE was 3rd with 86 nett while David Adenran was placed 4th with 87 nett. Over 40 golfers featured in the championship that covered 18 holes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *