July 13, 2024

TNN Newspaper

a commitment to responsible journalism

Bayelsa Decides: With Two LGAs Left, It’s Diri 5, Sylva 1

1 min read

Results from six of the eight local government areas in Bayelsa State have so far been announced, with Senator Douye Diri of the PDP winning convincingly in five of the local governments, while Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC has won in one.

Diri has so far won in Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia, Yenagoa, Ekeremor and Sagbama, while Sylva has got victory in the Nembe Local Government Area, scoring 22,248 votes against Diri’s 4,556.

Whatever Diri lost in Nembe was recovered in sufficient doses in Ekeremor Local Government, scoring 23,172, while Sylva got a paltry 8,445.

The two local governments that are yet to be released are Brass and Soutehrn Ijaw Local Governments Areas.

Collation is expected to resume later in the evening, but feelers from Brass are that electoral officials posted there have been kidnapped, while one PDP loyalist has been killed in front of the INEC office in the area.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *