Ex Miss Unical Battles To Succeed Late Husband In C’River Assembly

  • Written by  David Odey, Calabar
  • No comment
Ex Miss Unical Battles To Succeed Late Husband In  C’River Assembly

All is set for the bye-election to pick a winner to represent Obudu State Constituency in the Cross River state House of Assembly.

It will be a straight fight between Ada Ishamali of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Abbey Ukpukpen. Abbey is widow of the late Stephen Akomaye Ukpukpen.

Incidentally, the election is to replace the late Ukpukpen who died in the early hours of 30th May this year while on a walk-out in Calabar.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has scheduled the election for 11th August and revealed that at least 500 ad-hoc personnel will be required to conduct the bye-election.

Sources told TNN that a top government official has mobilized massive support for Abbey, former Miss UNICAL.

Abbey is said to have got the ticket on a platter because of her closeness to top people in government and her party, PDP, and has been tipped to win the election.

Although Ishamali comes from a very influential family in Obudu which is also close to Governor Ben Ayade, sources said Abbey is most likely to carry the day.

 The decision to organize the election is in line with relevant provisions of the 1999 constitution, Federal Republic of Nigeria and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), following confirmation of the notification from the Cross River State House of Assembly informing INEC of the vacant position.

The election will be held in 107 polling units in the ten wards of Obudu Local Government Area.

Receive Alerts On: Facebook: tnnnewspapers, Twitter: @TNN_Newspaper, Instagram: @tnnnewspapers

Share Your Story With Us: SMS: +2348046723123, Whatsapp: +2348046723123, Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

back to top